House Spirit

The history of the Houses

Toorak College’s Senior House System was established by co-Principals Misses Isabel and Robina Hamilton in the mid 1920s around the time the school relocated from Toorak to Mt Eliza.

The Hamilton sisters encouraged respect and responsibility to other students, a commitment to school work and good conduct, all of which earned points. Mindful of preserving the School’s heritage, House names were inspired by key people and places from the School’s earliest years.

Students were allotted to Douglas, Mayfield and Hamilton Houses. In 1948, Tripp House was established for day girls. As the numbers of day girls grew, Pye House was formed in 1955. The original three Houses remained for boarders until 1962 when boarders and day girls were integrated into each of the Houses. In 1984, Cerutty House was established.

Find out more about the heritage of Toorak College.

Houses in the Senior School

Every student in the Senior School is assigned to one of six Houses. House activities allow every student the opportunity to get involved and work as a team. The range of activities have grown and diversified over the years and now incorporate:

  • Swimming
  • Diving
  • Athletics
  • Cross Country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • Music with full House choral, small group choral and instrumental
  • Drama and Variety
  • Debating
  • Public Speaking
  • Joan Ansett Hall boarders competition
CeruttyBlue and whiteNamed after the School’s tenth Principal, Miss Dorothea Cerutty.Play
DouglasRed and goldNamed after one of the bordering streets in Toorak where the School was originally located.Play
HamiltonBlue and goldNamed after former co-principals, Miss Isabel Hamilton and Miss Robina Hamilton from 1907 to 1936.Play
MayfieldRed and blueNamed after one of the streets in Toorak where the School was originally located.Play
PyeGreen and goldIntroduced in 1955, named after former Principal, Miss Ellen Pye.Play
TrippRed and whiteNamed in memory of the School’s third Principal, Miss Margaret Tripp.Play

Find out more about the co-curricular opportunities available at Toorak College.

Wardle House Houses

Wardle House has a House system where students are assigned to one of the three Houses based on the School's colours:

  • Red
  • Blue
  • Gold

The House system in Wardle House provides opportunities for student leadership and friendly competition in a range of sporting and academic activities from Year 3 onwards. House events are an integral part of school life and are joyfully anticipated as girls strive to earn points for the overall aggregate Wardle House Cup at the end of the year, dress up and cheer for their House and get to know girls from the other year levels. House events are eagerly participated in and the 'spirit' that they engender is palpable. House is a window to the soul of Toorak College school life.

Find out more about Wardle House.